VERNER PANTON

Contemporary of Arne Jacobsen, with whom he worked for years, Verner Panton is one of the most influential Danish designers of his time. His creations, considered as pioneering, make him, more than twenty years after his death, one of the pillars of the Scandinavian modernism of the twentieth century. Panton created mainly chairs, remarkable for their shapes and their colors and materials.  

SOME BIOGRAPHICAL FACTS ABOUT VERNER PANTON

Verner Panton was born in 1926 in Gentofte, Denmark. He trained first as an architect engineer, before studying at the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Copenhagen. Early in his career, he worked closely with Arne Jacobsen, another remarkable Danish designer. However, their collaboration ceased when Panton decided to found his own studio in 1955. He created mostly chairs, astonishing as much by their shapes as by the chosen materials. His most famous model, the Panton Chair, is one of the best-selling models in the history of Danish design. Towards the end of his career, Panton abandoned design and was interested in interior design, imagining “psychedelic” spaces. In 1970, he created the interior of a liner, the Loreley, today a museum. He died in 1998, at the age of 72.

THE REMARKABLE WORK OF VERNER PANTON

As stated in his biography, Panton focused on chairs and created several models. He particularly liked bright colors and geometric shapes. This chair module, shown opposite, perfectly demonstrates the work of materials, with its seat in black wool. The forms are also worked, part of the modern Scandinavian genre of the twentieth century. With his famous Panton chair, he also worked with fiberglass reinforced polyester, and used polyurethane foam, innovating materials compared to his contemporaries. 

Still visible in museums or some design shops, the works of Verner Panton meet with great success around the world. The Vintage Furniture, your vintage furniture shop in Paris, has some rare pieces, visible in our spaces in the heart of the Marais

OUR PRODUCTS BY VERNER PANTON

VERNER PANTON

Contemporain d’Arne Jacobsen, avec qui il travailla des années, Verner Panton est un des designer danois les plus influents de son époque. Ses créations, considérées comme avant gardistes font de lui, plus de vingt ans après sa mort, un des piliers du modernisme scandinave du XXe siècle. Panton crée principalement des chaises, remarquables par leur formes et leur couleurs et matières.

QUELQUES ÉLÉMENTS BIOGRAPHIQUES SUR VERNER PANTON

Verner Panton est né en 1926 à Gentofte, au Danemark. Il se forme d’abord en tant qu’ingénieur architecte, avant d’étudier à l’Académie Royale des Beaux-Arts de Copenhague. Au début de sa carrière, il travaille étroitement avec Arne Jacobsen, autre designer danoisremarquable. Cependant, leur collaboration cesse quand Panton décide de fonder son propre studio en 1955. Il crée surtout des chaises, étonnantes autant par leur formes que par les matériau choisis. Son modèle le plus célèbre, la Panton Chair, est un des modèles les plus vendus dans l’histoire du design danois. Vers la fin de sa carrière, Panton délaisse le design et s’intéresse à la décoration d’intérieur, imaginant des espaces “psychédéliques”. En 1970, il crée  l’intérieur d’un paquebot, le Loreley, aujourd’hui un musée. Il décède en 1998, à l’âge de 72 ans.

 

LES TRAVAUX REMARQUABLES DE VERNER PANTON

Comme énoncé dans sa biographie, Panton s’intéresse surtout aux chaises et en crée plusieurs modèles. Il affectionne particulièrement les couleurs vives et les formes géométriques. Ce module de fauteuil, visible ci-contre, démontre parfaitement le travail des matières, avec son assise en laine noire. Les formes sont également travaillées, s’inscrivant dans le genre moderne scandinave du XXe siècle. Avec sa fameuse chaise Panton, il travaille également le polyester renforcé à la fibre de verre, et utilise de la mousse de polyuréthane, innovant les matériaux par rapport à ses contemporains. 

Encore visibles dans des musées ou certaines boutiques de design, les oeuvres de Verner  Panton rencontrent un franc succès dans le monde entier. The Vintage Furniture, votre boutique de mobilier vintage à Paris, possède quelques pièces rares, visibles dans nos espaces au coeur du Marais

 
 

 

NOS PRODUITS DE VERNER PANTON

Paste your AdWords Remarketing code here