CARL MALMSTEN

Carl Malmsten, Swedish architect and designer, is a legend in the furniture and design world. More than a hundred years after the realization of his first works, his legacy still continues, through his schools and his shop. Drawing inspiration from the nature and ideals of his time, he created many furniture, now visible in museums or vintage furniture shops.

LIFE AND HISTORY OF A FURNITURE DESIGNER

Born in 1888 in Sweden, Carl Malmsten was very interested in design and architecture. His career took off after he won a design competition for Stockholm City Hall in 1916. A year later, he exhibited his work alongside famous architects of his time, recognizing him as a talented designer. He founded his first design school in 1930, which will close a little later, for lack of funding. However, following the opening of his shop in 1940, he managed to win Prince Eugen Medal, a Swedish distinction for outstanding artistic work. This new reputation gained, his school was renamed after him in 1948, and still continues today to train young designers. It also has a second school, Capellagården, which offers courses in textiles, ceramics and furniture creations. Although he died in 1972, his memory continues in his creations and in the teachings given in his name.

 

CARL MALMSTEN: A CLASSICAL AND FUNCTIONALIST STYLE

Like most of his contemporaries, Carl Malmsten advocates a design that is both classic and functional, adapted to everyday life. He draws his inspiration from nature and, as a result, works with noble materials. This birch buffet is a perfect example of his style: delicate, functional and perfectly realized. His creations are made to be durable, proof is today: his furniture is still robust, spoils their quality.

Even today, Carl Malmsten’s creations are sought after by design enthusiasts and museums. Some of his pieces are available for sale at The Vintage Furniture, your reference in vintage furniture in Paris.

OUR PRODUCTS BY CARL MALMSTEN

CARL MALMSTEN

Carl Malmsten, architecte et designer suédois, fait office de légende dans le milieu du meuble et du design. Plus de cent ans après la réalisation de ses premières œuvres, son héritage perdure toujours, à travers ses écoles et sa boutique. Puisant son inspiration dans la nature et les idéaux de son époque, il a créé de nombreux meubles, aujourd’hui visibles dans les musées ou dans les boutiques de meubles vintage.

VIE ET HISTOIRE D’UN CRÉATEUR DE MEUBLE

Né en 1888 en Suède, Carl Malmsten s’intéresse très jeune au design et à l’architecture. Sa carrière décolle alors qu’il gagne un concours de design pour le Stockholm City Hall en 1916. Un an plus tard, il expose son travail aux côtés de célèbres architectes de son époque, le reconnaissant comme un designer talentueux. Il fonde sa première école de design en 1930, qui fermera un peu plus tard, faute de financement. Cependant, suite à l’ouverture de sa boutique en 1940, il parvient à remporter la Prince Eugen Medal, une distinction suédoise pour un travail artistique remarquable. Cette nouvelle réputation acquise, son école est rebaptisée à son nom en 1948, et continue encore aujourd’hui de former de jeunes designers. Il possède également une seconde école, Capellagården, qui propose des cours de textiles, de céramique et de créations de meubles. Bien qu’il soit décédé en 1972, son souvenir perdure dans ses créations et dans les enseignements dispensés en son nom.

 

​CARL MALMSTEN : UN STYLE CLASSIQUE ET FONCTIONNALISTE

Comme la plupart de ses contemporains, Carl Malmsten prône un design à la fois classique et fonctionnel, adapté à la vie de tous les jours. Il puise son inspiration dans la nature et, de ce fait, travaille des matériaux nobles. Ce buffet en bouleau est un parfait exemple de son style : délicat, fonctionnel et parfaitement réalisé. Ses créations sont faites pour être durables, preuve en est aujourd’hui : ses meubles sont toujours aussi robustes, gage de leur qualité.

Encore de nos jours, les créations de Carl Malmsten sont disputées par les amateurs de design et les musées. Quelques unes de ses pièces sont disponibles à la vente chez The Vintage Furniture, votre référent en meuble vintage à Paris.

NOS PRODUITS PAR CARL MALMSTEN

Paste your AdWords Remarketing code here